30th Airlie Beach Race Week 2018      Protest decisions up to 21/09/2018

Print This Page

No PROTESTOR PROTESTEE Race HEARING Arb'n FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS OUTCOME RULE
14 Still Dangerous
7022
Cruising NS
Caber
W48
Cruising NS
6 1645 on
16/08/2018
  FACTS
1. W48 advised that they wished to Retire from Race 6.
2. 7022 requested to withdraw the Protest.

CONCLUSIONS
1. Withdrawal of Protest permitted.  
13 Infarrction
6007
Cruising 3
Dire Straits
1317
Cruising 3
6 on
16/08/2018
  FACTS
1. 1317 retired from Race 6.
2. 6007 requested to withdraw Protest.

CONCLUSIONS
1. 6007 request to withdraw Protest permitted.  
12 Matrix
41
Cruising Div 2
Biddy Hu II
R187
Cruising Div 2
5 1730 on
15/08/2018
  FACTS
1. The Protest is Valid.
2. Biddy Hu II did not breach RRS 11.
3. There was a heated exchange between both boats using inappropriate language.

CONCLUSIONS
1. There was no breach of RRS Pt. 2.
1. Protest dismissed.
2. Both parties counselled about their RRS 2 responsibilities.
RRS 2, 11.
11 Race Committee Ullman Sails
V2
Airlie Beach Race Week
5 1700 on
15/08/2018
  FACTS
1. V2 used their motor after the Prep Signal.
2. V2 used their motor in accordance with Marina Rules to enter the Marina and effect repairs.
3. ASAP after leaving the Marina V2 stopped their motor, raised their sails, sailed to the Start Line and started Race 5.
4. V2 started Race 5 approx. 17 minutes behind their Division.

CONCLUSIONS
1. V2 used their motor contrary to RRS42.2.
2. V2 did not gain an advantage from using their motor.
3. V2 started the Race behind their Division.
1. V2 is to have a 0pt scoring penalty applied to their result in Race 5. RRS 42.2
10 Kulani
1971
Cr Non Spi
  4 1600 on
14/08/2018
  FACTS
1. Billy the Kid capsized in Race 4.
2. Kulani ceased racing at 12:43 and stood by Billy the Kid and gave help.
3. Kulani recommenced racing at 1248.

CONCLUSIONS
1. Kulain is entitled to Redress.
1. Redress granted
2. Kulani's finish time is to be reduced by 5 Minutes.
RRS 62.1 (c)
9 Hammer of Queensland
7
Cr Div 1
  4 1600 on
14/08/2018
  FACTS
1. Billy the Kid capsized in Race 4.
2. Hammer of Queensland ceased racing and stood by Billy the Kid and gave help.
3. Hammer of Queensland did not finish the race and escorted Billy the Kid to port.

CONCLUSIONS
1. Hammer of Queensland is entitled to Redress.
1. Redress granted
2. Hammer of Queensland is to be scored her Average Points for the Series up to Race 4.
RRS62.1 (c)
8 Anthea
W1
Cr Non Spin
  4 1630 on
14/08/2018
  FACTS
1. Billy the Kid capsized in Race 4.
2. Anthea ceased racing at 12:35 and stood by Billy the Kid and gave help.
3. Anthea recommenced racing at 13:12.

CONCLUSIONS
1. Anthea is entitled to Redress.
1. Redress granted.
2. Anthea's finish time is to be reduced by 37 minutes.
RRS 62.1(c)
7 Protest Committee Mr Magoo
7002
Airlie Beach race Week
3 0930 on
13/08/2018
  FACTS
See case 6

CONCLUSIONS
See Case 6  
6 Syzygy
2888
Perf Racing
Martini Racing
7018
Perf Racing
3 1800 on
12/08/2018
  FACTS
1. During the Start sequence for Race 3 Syzygy and Poco Loco were on Starboard tack sailing long the line in 5-6 kt of wind.
2. Martini Racing and Mr Magoo were approaching Syzygy and Poco Loco on Port tack.
3. Mr Magoo was to leeward and overlapped on Martini Racing.
4. The lateral separation between Martini Racing and Mr magoo was approx. 1m.
5. Syzygy and Poco Loco were obstructions to Martini Racing.
6. Martini Racing hailed Mr Magoo for room to keep clear of the boats to windward that were obstructions.
7. Mr Magoo failed to give sufficient room for Martini Racing to avoid Syzygy and Poco Loco the obstructions.
8. There was contact between Martini Racing, Poco Loco, Syzygy, and Mr Magoo.
9. All boats completed the race, no penalty turns were taken.

CONCLUSIONS
1. Martini Racing was not given sufficient room by Mr Magoo to keep clear of Poco Loco and Syzygy who were obstructions.
2. Mr magoo failed to give the inside boat (Martini Racing) room to clear the obstructing boats.
3. Martini Racing is exonerated for breaching RRS 14.
Mr Magoo is to have two (2) points added to their Race Score for Race 3, all other scores to remain the same. Definition "Obstruction"
RRS 14; 19.2(b)
SI 16.2
5 RQYS - Motorline BMW
174
Airlie Beach Race Week
Asadori
JPN2477
Airlie Beach Race Week
3 1715 on
12/08/2018
  FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
See Hearing 2  
4 RQYS - Motorline BMW
174
Perf 2
Victoire
84001
IRC Passage
3 1715 on
12/08/2018
  FACTS
1. See Case 2.
2. Case reopened am 13/08/2018 to consider Redress for 174.
3. 174 Retired from Race 3 resulting in their position in the race being made significantly worse through no fault of her own.
4. 174 suffered damage as a result of 84001 breaking a rule of Part 2.

CONCLUSIONS
1. 174 is entitled to Redress.
1. See Hearing 2.
2. Redress granted to be scored her Average Points for the Series to Race 3.
RRS 62.1, 62.1(d)
3 Victoire
84001
IRC Passage
RQYS- Motorline BMW
174
Perf 2
3 1715 on
12/08/2018
  FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
See Hearing 2  
2 Victoire
84001
IRC Passage
Asadori
JPN2477
Cruising 2
3 1715 on
12/08/2018
  FACTS
1. 174 and JPN2477 were running to the bottom Mark on Port jibe, 174 had an inside overlap on JPN2477.
2. 174 was the first boat to enter the Zone, inside overlapped on JPN2477.
3. 174 and JPN2477 were sailing at approx. 4 kts.
4. 84001 was on the Starboard layline sailing at approx. 8 kts.
5. At 6-7 Boat Lengths from the Mark there was doubt that 84001 had obtained an inside overlap on 174 and JPN2477.
6. 174 lateral distance to the Mark was was approx. 4-5 m.
7. 84001 called for Mark Room.
8. 174 and JPN2477 responded there was no room.
9. When it became apparent to 174 and JPN2477 that a collision was imminent they both bore away in an attempt to avoid contact.
10. 84001 sailed between 174 and the Mark there was contact between 84001 and 174, and subsequent contact between 174 and JPN2477.
11. There was damage to 84001 and 174.
12. 174 Retired, 84001 and JPN2477 completed the race.
13. No penalty turns were taken.

CONCLUSIONS
1. 174 was entitled to Mark Room as the inside boat and first in the Zone.
2. There was doubt that 84001 established an overlap on 174.
3. 174 and JPN2477 attempted to avoid contact.
4. 84001 was not entitled to room at the Mark.
5. 84001 did not attempt to avoid contact.
1. 84001 is to be scored DSQ in Race 3.
2. 174 and JPN2477 are exonerated for breaking RRS 114.
14, 18.2 (e) and (f)
1 Crossbow
142
Cruising 3
Summer Wind
B237
Cruising 3
2 on
11/08/2018
  FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
1. B237 acknowledged their breach or RRS 28 and RET.
2. 142 requested to withdraw protest.
3. Withdrawal permitted.
RRS 28