Festival of Sails 2016      Protest decisions up to 19/10/2017

Print This Page

No PROTESTOR PROTESTEE Race HEARING Arb'n FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS OUTCOME RULE
11 Reopen Cases 4 & 6 Requested by Absolut 2 1930 on
25/01/2016
  FACTS
1. Monypenny was on starboard tack approaching the starting line to start one minute twenty seconds prior to the start.
2. Cadibarra 8 was just overlapped to leeward of Monypenny.
3. Absolut was overlapped to leeward of Cadibarra 8.
4. Cadibarra 8 hailed Monypenny to luff up.
5. Monypenny luffed up and broke the overlap.
6. From clear astern Cadibarra 8 made contact with her spinnaker pole and the back of Monypenny breaking her spinnaker pole.
7. There was no damage to Monypenny.
8. During the incident Absolut sailed half a boat length to leeward of Cadibarra 8.
9. There was no contact between Cadibarra 8 and Absolut.
10. Cadibarra 8 retired from Race 2.

CONCLUSIONS
1. Cadibarra 8 clear astern, did not keep clear of Monypenny, clear ahead. Cadibarra 8 broke rule 12.
2. As Cadibarra 8 retired from the race there is no further penalty.
3. No rule was broken by Absolut
Absolut is reinstated in race 2 at her original finishing time. 12, 14, 44.1(b)
10 Biddy Hu II
R187
Cruising AMS Div 1
Windspeed
Sm3639
Cruising AMS Div 1
3 1900 on
25/01/2016
  FACTS
1. Biddy Hu II was close hauled on starboard tack.
2. Windspeed was close hauled on port tack on a converging course with Biddy Hu II.
3. Biddy Hu II hailed starboard, and Windspeed responded by tacking.
4. Windspeed completed her tack approximately one boat length ahead of Biddy Hu II
5. Ten seconds after Windspeed completed her tack Biddy Hu II bore away to the leeward of Windspeed
6. There was no contact

CONCLUSIONS
No rule was broken
Protest dismissed 13
9 Take Five
S197
Cruising AMS Div 2
Seduction
M406
Cruising AMS Div 2
3 1900 on
25/01/2016
Y FACTS
M406 acknowledged breaking a rule, and accepts the arbitration penalty.

CONCLUSIONS
Seduction M406 accepts the arbitration penalty.
   
8 Jaffa
R39
Div 1
Reverie
B26
Div 1
3 2025 on
24/01/2016
  FACTS
1. Jaffa was closed hauled on starboard tack.
2. Reverie was close hauled on Port tack, 5 boat lengths from and on a collision course Jaffa.
3. Jaffa hailed Reverie starboard several times.
4. Jaffa crash tacked to avoid a collision.
5. At the same instant Reverie luffed up to commenced to tack.

CONCLUSIONS
1. Reverie on port tack did not keep clear of Jaffa a starboard tack boat.
Reverie is to be scored DSQ in race 3 10, Case 50
7 Shambles
Sm555
Cruising Spinnaker Div 3
Time Out / Seaya
B39S1902
Cruising Spinnaker Div 3
2 2015 on
24/01/2016
  FACTS
1. Shambles (SM555) was reaching on Port tack towards Channel Marker 10 close to the edge of Hopetoun Channel.
2. Time Out (B039) sailing faster on Port tack to windward of SM555 established an overlap on SM555.
3. Seaya (S1902) came from behind and to leeward and established an overlap on SM555 and B039.
4. There was approximately 8 m lateral separation between SM555 and S1902.
5. There was approximately 2m lateral separation between SM555 and B039.
6. B039 was sailing on the edge of Hopetoun Channel and considered the channel edge an obstacle and hailed SM555 for water.
7. There was contact between the rigs of SM555 and B039.
8. There was contact between the bow of SM555 and midships Port side of S1902 causing damage to both vessels.
9. All boats finished their races.
10. No boat took a penalty.

CONCLUSIONS
1. B039 failed to keep clear as required by RRS19.2(c) and 14.
2. The contact between SM555 and B039, directly resulted in the subsequent contact between SM555 and S1902.
3. SM555 compelled to break RRS11 but is exonerated under RRS64.1(a).
4. SM555 did not break RRS14.
5. B039 did not break RRS14 as it was not reasonably possible to avoid contact.
1. B039 is to be scored DSQ in Race 2. 11.14, 19.2(c), 64.1(a)
6 Moneypenny
R35
Cruising AMS Div 2
Cadibarra 8
R420
Cruising AMS Div 2
2 1730 on
24/01/2016
  FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
Refer Case 4  
5 Cartouche
B10
Cruising Spinnaker Div 1
Carpe Diem
Sm1750
Cruising Spinnaker Div 1
2 1850 on
24/01/2016
  FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
Protest withdrawn.  
4 Cadibarra 8
R420
Cruising AMS Div 1
R350
Absolut
Cruising AMS Div 1
2 1730 on
24/01/2016
  FACTS
1. Monypenny was on starboard tack approaching the starting line to start one minute prior to the start.
2. Cadibarra 8 was just overlapped to leeward of Monypenny.
3. Absolut was overlapped to leeward of Cadibarra 8.
4. Absolut called Cadibarra 8 to go up and Cadibarra 8 responded at the same time calling Monypenny to go up.
5. Monypenny luffed and broke the overlap.
6. Absolut made an initial contact with Cadbbarra 8 as she attempted to keep clear.
7. Absolut the bore away sharply and caught back corner of Cadibarra 8 pushing Cadibarra 8 into the back of the of Monypenny breaking her spinnaker pole.
8. Cadibarra 8 retired from Race 2.

CONCLUSIONS
1. Absolut having changed course failed to give Cadibarra 8 room to keep clear.
2. Cadibarra 8 was forced to break rule 12 by the actions Absolut and is exonerated in accordance 64.1(a).
3. Absolut also broke rule 14.
1. Absolut is to be scored DSQ in Race 2
2. Cadibarra 8 is granted redress and is to scored in race 2 the average races 1 & 3.
12, 14, 16.1, 62.1(b),
64.1(a)
3 The Bookmaker
G6336
IRC
Antagonist
S138
IRC
1 1900 on
24/01/2016
  FACTS
1. On the pre-start side of the start line, 15 knots of wind, 1.45 seconds before the start.
2. Antagonist was on a starboard tack with eased sheets.
3. The Bookmaker was on a port tack reach.
4. Antagonist luffed to a close hauled course, two boat lengths from The Bookmaker who was to windward of Antagonist.
5. the boats were on a collision course.
6. Neither boat changed course after the Antagonist's luff.
7. A collision occurred between Antagonist's bow and The Bookmaker's aft quarter.
8. The damage was serious.
9. The Bookmaker took a two turn penalty.

CONCLUSIONS
1. The Bookmaker on port tack did not keep clear of Antagonist on Starboard tack. The Bookmaker broke rule 10.
2. It was reasonably possible for Antagonist to avoid contact with The Bookmaker. Antagonist broke rule 14.
3. As The Bookmaker caused serious damage the penalty was to retire under rule 44.1 (b), she failed to retire.
1. The Bookmaker is DSQ for breaking rule 10 in race 1.
2. Antagonist is DSQ for breaking rule 14 in race 1.
10, 14, 44.1(b)
2 Vivacite
G5
Cruising Spinnaker
Ocean Skins
G477
Cruising Spinnaker
1 on
23/01/2016
  FACTS


CONCLUSIONS
Protest withdrawn  
1 Pornstar
B4
Sportsboat
Race Committee 2 0615 on
23/01/2016
  FACTS
1. The offset marks for the windward marks were laid on the starboard side of the windward marks instead of the port side in accordance with Sailing Instructions
2. The Race Committee abandoned race 2 by displaying Code flag N on the start boat with three sound signaled and on the top mark boat, and later on the jury vessel.
2. Pornstar completed the course after the race was abandoned.

CONCLUSIONS
There was no improper action or omission by the race committee.
The request for redress is denied 62.1(a) 32.1(d)
SI Apendix D & R